Smarties – Vegan Halloween Candy

October 8th, 2012
Smarties

Smarties

I’m sure it isn’t news that Smarties candies are vegan. They are just little pills of sugar, after all. But when I happened upon their website, I couldn’t help but notice that they have a page entitled “Vegan Candy”. When major companies make special mention of the vegan nature of their products, that makes me think at least some of what we do actually makes a difference. Here is the text of their site (I was going to just grab an excerpt but every paragraph was interesting to me):

Vegan? Fabulous! There is no need to worry about your dietary and ethical choices coming in conflict with satisfying a sweet tooth. Smarties® candy is the perfect solution to this potential dilemma!

Smarties® ingredients contain no animal products, making them a tasty and cruelty-free choice for anyone looking for delicious vegan candy. Our Smarties® products are entirely free of meat, fish, dairy and eggs.  You can rest assured that the calcium stearate is plant derived. 

There are many reasons people choose a vegan or vegetarian diet including for their health, for the environment and for the animals. Although Smarties® started out as an “accidentally vegan” product, we are now well aware of the importance of these issues. We are delighted to offer a compassionate candy to satisfy the vegan sweet tooth!

So, whether it’s a vegan Halloween, Valentine or Easter you’re after, you can rely on Smarties® to provide the vegan sweets you love.

If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that the product is manufactured in a facility that does not manufacture with animal products and is completely vegan.

Note: Smarties Gummies ingredients are free of animal products and vegan, but because they are made in a facility that processes other ingredients, they may contain traces of peanut, milk, wheat and soy.

[del.icio.us] [Digg] [Facebook] [Google] [Ma.gnolia] [MySpace] [Reddit] [StumbleUpon] [Technorati] [Twitter] [Yahoo!] [Email]

2 Responses to “Smarties – Vegan Halloween Candy”

  1. Amanda Says:

    This is great to know! I used to LOVE smarties as a kid! :-)

  2. Questions on Vegan Recipes For Kids Your Questions About Vegan Cake Balls | Questions on Vegan Recipes For Kids Says:

    [...] vegan friendly. I really hoped this helped to sort out your confusion. :) Powered by Yahoo! AnswersDavid asks…Vegetarians?I know vegans do not eat cheese, milk, egg etc as it is a by-product of ani…Vegetarians?I know vegans do not eat cheese, milk, egg etc as it is a by-product of animals. But i [...]

Leave a Reply